Pronounce the name of this product in and the last thing you’d think of would be that it’s something consumable rather than some kind of incarnation of evil. Luckily it’s also known as “wheat gluten” or “wheat meat”.
As the later names suggests, seitan is made from the gluten of wheat. It is an alternative high-protein meat substitute to soybean products like tofu, and it’s widely used in vegetarian and Asian cooking. In fact, seitan resembles meat in texture and aesthetics to such extent, that some vegetarians avoid it for that very reason.